Having at heart to restore the place
and having purchased the property, we now live in the house of the Admiral since 2015 with our 2 children.
The Domain is composed of many buildings : the gîte (building dating from the 15th century), an old stud farm (with more than ten stables), outbuildings and our house is all on about ten hectares.
We have also revived the horse breeding business.
The name of the cottage comes from Mr Richard (1843-1916), former owner of the hamlet of La Moricière.
As Vice-Admiral he has been in charge of many naval commands during his career. He also participated in the expedition to Mexico, among other things. Commander of the Legion of Honour, he is one of theVendeens who have left their mark on history. He had nearly 48 years of service when he retired and became Mayor of his commune : Saint Cyr en Talmondais.
It was here, at the Domain that he developed the stud farm for second hand brood mares. In the 1890s, Admiral Richard supplied the national stud farm of La Roche Sur Yon and we have relaunched the breeding of horses.
It is our historical treasure!
THE HISTORY OF THE ADMIRAL'S DOMAIN
We are now determined to participate in our own way to safeguard this heritage.
Come and join us and discover these charming places full of history while staying at our gîte !
Horses are part of the property’s history. Discover our horses: Splendid (French saddle), Rantanplan (Fjord) and Espelette (Pottok) and the foals to be born.
Travel with your horses: it’s another possibility! We offer the possibility to accommodate them in a meadow or box.